A Dragon’s Life: Ch22

-Rebel-

Blood dropped from my hidden blades. This was the 5th general/commander I killed today. And many more were dead by my hands, like the soldiers of the generals.

But I didn’t care.

I wanted the war to stop. And if it had to go by this way, so be it. I have gave them more than enough chance. And I was going to end this. Either I get ended, or the government gets ended. It’ going to be either them or me.

I walked over the corpses and went into the garage. I grabbed a jerry can full of gasoline from a jeep and poured it over the dead dragons. Then I lit up a cigarette, and drew a deep breath from it.

I started smoking. Like I said, I stopped to care anymore. I didn’t care. I didn’t want to care. And smoking helped me relieve the stress. Even though I said I don’t care anymore, I still saw the dead’s faces. And smoking helped me get rid of them. It also helped me get tipsy. I simply couldn’t do mass murders with me wide-awake. But when I was tipsy, it helped me to do so as I wouldn’t think as straight.

I drew another deep breath. The cigarette was a strong one. It had lots of nicotine and tar and smoke. But that’s why I chose this one.

‘It’s funny.’ I thought. ‘Who knew I’d be smoking at the age of 22? I hated smokes when I was young. I like them. I know this is not healthy. I know this hurts me from the inside. But how could I stop the war if I couldn’t shake off the guilts? This helps. This helps mentally.’ I thought to myself, justifying myself.

I drew yet another deep breath, and threw the left stud of the cigar into the gasoline. The gasoline instantly lit on fire, burning the corpses. I felt better thanks to the cigarette, as I could shake off some of the guilt. I have nearly killed 70 dragons today, and no matter how corrupt and bad they were, it still stung me with guilt.

I walked away from the corpses and the fire. I was going to have to kill more for the war to end. ‘It’s a wonder how much dragons could be corrupt and bad.’ I thought. No matter how much I kill, there’s still more. ‘But don’t worry, Rebel.’ I said to myself. ‘It’ll end one way or the other.’

I took one of the jeeps and started towards another army base. The one I’m in will be surrounded in fire in a few hours, like the other 4 army bases I destroyed today.

I drove. I drove and drove. While I was driving, more protesters died in my mind, and that made me speed.

I took another cigarette, and lit it. I drew another breath. I didn’t smell innocent on me anymore. I smelled like smokes and blood and death. I had changed.

And I didn’t like it.

But what had to be done had to be done. It was either me or the government. And j would finish what I had started. And I would win.

Even if it took all of me to do so.

I would not let the government win. I would not let the war take over us. I would not let the corrupt rule over us.

I drew a final breath from the said cigarette and threw it away. I knew it was bad, and Seath would frown upon it, but I had to live, and I couldn’t live with all the burden the killings of soldiers and deaths the protesters made.

I sighed. I was nearing another army base. And this one had a corrupt commander as well. How many will I have to eliminate to stop the war? How many will I have to kill? And how long will I have to continue this?

I saw the garage entrance and started to speed up.

‘Halt!’ One of the guards shouted at me.

I ignored him, and sped faster towards the garage. The guard went round eyed as he saw me not slowing down and instead speeding up. He jumped to the left to evade the jeep as I rammed it into the inspection booth.

‘Bam!’ It sounded as I crashed into the inspection booth. Pain erupted from my chest, but I knew nothing had broken as I had my bag in front of me for cushioning purposes. I was dazed, but quickly recovered and jumped out of the broken jeep and started to shoot down the guards. The guards were dazed, but quickly recovered as well and quickly surrounded me.

‘Put down your weapon!’ One of the guards yelled.

‘Time to act.’ I thought, and put down my sub-machine gun on the ground. The guards surrounded me with their rifles raised, and soon one od them started to come forwards to cuff me. That was my cue.

I rushed forwards and knifed the guy in the neck, then rushed and got two more with each knives on my whist. The guards got alarmed, but couldn’t shoot me as they could accidentally shoot each other. That was why I acted and why I waited.

One by one, the guards fell down, with knife wounds on their necks, chests, and stomachs. Once they were all down, I walked to the garague, and walked down the corridor connected to it. Like an idiot, the army guys designed all the army bases in a similar fashion, and that made it easy for me to infiltrate every army base.

Knowing where to go, I turned a corner and went through the shelves. I saw another group of guards rotating, and struck them from behind.

One guard fell down as my knife entered through the back of his neck and came back out, and another did the same on the left side. I grabbed their necks to stop them falling to the ground and alerting the others, and dragged them to the nearby shelves. The group didn’t notice the two dragons missing from the group.

‘Such dumb bastards.’ I thought. ‘I can’t believe we are getting scammed and killed by these bastards.’

I struck them from behind again, in the same fashion. My knives disconnected their nerves, and made them choke in their own blood, stopping them from yelling out to alert the others.

I repeated this once more before they noticed.

‘Hey. Where are the others?’ one of them, apparently the group leader said. ‘There’s supposed to be 12. Where’s the half of us?’

‘Gone.’ I said, coming out of the shadows. ‘And you’ll be following them.’ I said, smiling wickedly, while frowning on the inside.

‘Who are you? And what do you mean by gone? Did you kill them?’ He said, slightly bewildered.

‘Ding Ding Ding! If doesn’t take a genius to find that out, does it?’ I said, sarcastically. ‘And as I said, you’ll be following them. So heads up!’ I said, and rushed forwards and got my knife between his neck. He died, wide eyed, chocking on his own blood. The other guards tried to resist, but followed the group leader soon after.

Now that the group was out of the way, there was only one corner and the last door left to go.

I met no one else and kicked opened the door. There was no one. But I knew the commander was hiding somewhere. The last 3 had been like that.

I walked around the desk, and looked under it. The commander looked at me with frightened eyes.

‘Please don’t kill me!’ He pleaded. ‘I’ll give you anything you want-anything! Please don’t kill me!’

This guy was a coward as well, and did not deserve his place. I did not speak, and just knifed him in the neck. He died, chocking on his own blood as well.

‘Sadly for you, I don’t want anything from you. I just want you dead, and the war stopped.’ I said to the now dead 6th general.

Leave a Reply

